Connecticut state seal Connecticut state flag



INTERESTING CAR FACTS ABOUT CONNECTICUT:  In 1937, Connecticut became the first state to issue permanent license plates for cars.


  1. 1994 Honda Accord
  2. 1995 Honda Civic
  3. 1991 Toyota Camry
  4. 1999 Chevrolet Pickup
  5. 1997 Ford F150 Series
  6. 2004 Dodge Ram
  7. 2000 Dodge Caravan
  8. 1994 Acura Integra
  9. 2002 Ford Explorer
  10. 1999 Ford Taurus

With a thorough examination from Vehicle Inspectors, you will be able to drive with peace of mind, knowing that your pre-owned vehicle doesn’t harbor any nasty surprises. We are professionals at what we do, and we will make sure that your car will serve you for many years to come.

If you’re buying a used vehicle from a licensed Connecticut dealer, you have some legal protection in the form of a warranty. Used dealers are required to cover the cars they sell with the following warranties:

  1. If the vehicle is less than seven years old, and costs between $3,000 and $5,000, the dealer is required to cover it with a 30-day/1,500-mile warranty.
  2. If the vehicle is less than seven years old, and costs $5,000 or more, the dealer is required to sell it with a 60-day/3,000-mile warranty.
  3. If the vehicle is more than seven years old, and/or costs less than $3,000, the dealer is not required to cover it with a warranty. The dealer is required, however, to print on the window sticker that the car is being sold “as is.”
  4. If you are buying a used vehicle from a private seller, there is no required warranty protection. Once the title changes hands, the car―and any potential problems― belong to the buyer. No matter what, it’s a good idea to obtain a vehicle history report before signing the deal.

Be sure to complete a proper title transfer. It’s also imperative that you obtain car insurance and that you register your new vehicle right away.

If you’re buying a new vehicle in Connecticut, you are protected by the Lemon Law, which was the first of its kind in the country when enacted in 1982. The Lemon Law basically creates a binding arbitration procedure in case a new car under warranty cannot be successfully repaired to conform to the warranty after a number of tries. A consumer may apply for a ruling, which, if favorable to the consumer, can result in a replacement vehicle or a refund from the dealer/manufacturer.

  • Selling a Used Vehicle

If you sell a used vehicle in Connecticut, it is sold “as is,” with no warranty or guarantee of any type. Once you complete the title transfer and create a bill of sale, the vehicle belongs to the new owner and you have no obligation.

  • Selling a New Vehicle

To sell a new motor vehicle, you must be a licensed car dealer and you must follow the state-mandated licensing rules, which govern advertising, sale circumstances, and warranties.

Related Posts

Vehicle inspection services are available throughout Connecticut

Vehicle Information

AutoCheck logo

Vehicle Information